

Minutes

Council

Venue: Council Chamber - Civic Centre, Doncaster Road, Selby,

YO8 9FT

Date: Tuesday, 13 December 2022

Time: 5.00 pm

Present: Councillor I Chilvers in the Chair

Councillors D Mackay, K Arthur, D Brook, J Cattanach, J Chilvers, M Crane, S Duckett, K Ellis, T Grogan, M Jordan (Vice-Chair), A Lee, C Lunn, J Mackman, R Musgrave, W Nichols, C Pearson, N Reader, C Richardson, J Shaw-

Wright, R Sweeting, G Ashton and R Packham

Officers Present: Director of Corporate Services and Commissioning – Suzan

Harrington, Monitoring Officer – Alison Hartley, Democratic Services Officers – Victoria Foreman, Dawn Drury, Gina

Mulderrig and Camila Maciel

Public: 12

Before the start of the formal business of the meeting, the Council held a minutes' silence in honour of the recent deaths of former Councillor Ruth Sayner and Chief Executive Janet Waggott's husband.

43 APOLOGIES FOR ABSENCE

Apologies for absence were received from Councillors J Duggan, Keith Franks, Paul Welch, Steve Shaw-Wright, Mark Topping and David Buckle.

Apologies were also received from Janet Waggott, Chief Executive.

44 DISCLOSURES OF INTEREST

There were no disclosures of interest.

45 APPOINTMENT OF HONORARY ALDERMEN AND ALDERWOMEN (C/22/11)

The Director of Corporate Services and Commissioning presented report C/22/11 to the Council, who were asked to decide whether to confer the title of Honorary Alderman (or Alderwoman as appropriate) on the current and former

District Councillors, further details of which were set out in the report and Appendices 1 and 2.

Members noted that it was customary to regularly consider whether any individuals qualified for the title of Honorary Alderman (or Alderwoman as appropriate). Ahead of the dissolution of Selby District Council on 31 March 2023, all previous and current District Councillors were considered for the title. In line with legislation and the Council's previously adopted criteria, Councillors listed in the report's recommendations qualified for consideration to be appointed as Honorary Aldermen (or Alderwomen as appropriate) by Selby District Council.

The Council acknowledged the many years' service to the community of the proposed recipients and noted the upcoming dissolution of Selby District Council on 31 March 2023 due to the move to a new unitary authority for North Yorkshire, following local government reorganisation.

The recommendations set out in the report were proposed and seconded, a vote taken and were CARRIED.

The list of proposed recipients was read out and the titles presented to the recipients or their representatives and followed by a photograph. The Chairman thanked the Members, guests and representatives for attending and invited all those present to a reception after the meeting.

RESOLVED:

The Council considered report C/22/11 and agreed to confer the title of Honorary Alderman (or Alderwoman as appropriate) on the following current and former District Councillors:

- Donald Bain-Mackay
- Elizabeth Casling
- John Cattanach
- Ian Chilvers
- Mark Crane
- Stephanie Duckett
- Cliff Lunn
- John Mackman
- Brian Marshall
- Chris Metcalfe
- Wendy Nichols
- Robert Packham
- Chris Pearson
- Steve Shaw-Wright
- Richard Sweeting

The meeting closed at 5.25 pm.